Not Permanent


About 6-7 years ago, if I needed to buy something for use in the kitchen, I thought along these lines –

  1. Try and do without it
  2. Look for the cheapest workable alternative
  3. See if my parents/others have an extra that I could take

My main logic was that I was renting, why have too much stuff  when I am moving around so much and am not here permanently. Why bother?

I made do without a blender for 3 years.

I did not have a proper cutlery set for 4 years.

I avoided getting an oven for almost 5 years (There really was no extra space for an oven in my rental kitchens).

I had very little cookware.

I used a knife I did not like for 3 years.

I had an epiphany – I kept on postponing buying things for years and lived without stuff because of some plausible move/settling somewhere else in the future. I was depriving myself of pleasure and ease for some point in future. I had been saying that ‘I was not permanent here‘ for 3 years! Even, if I did move and settle permanently somewhere, would it be wise to spend a lot of money buying everything I needed at one go? Knowing me and how much research, analysis and searching I do, it would take me months before I got everything I wanted. At least buying stuff and using them would let me know if I liked it enough to take it with me or buy the same when I moved.

This was how I started buying kitchen stuff I wanted about 4 years ago and stopped postponing to some indefinite point in the future when I had my ‘own house and was settled‘. Granted, I have made some mistakes along the way and bought stuff I never used much or did not like later on but I have also invested in some cookware that has made my life easier and made me quite happy because it is a pleasure to use.

I am not permanent here but I am not permanent anywhere. 

5 thoughts on “Not Permanent

    1. Ha ha. I do not think there is any set amount of stuff every person needs to have. As long you use it and it makes you happy, it is okay even it means you have a lot. I definitely don’t like too much stuff around me.

Leave a Reply

