Weird Things About Pokémon Anime


Last updated on 31 Aug, 2016.

I shall update this post as I watch more episodes.

I started watching Pokémon anime because of Pokémon Go. I liked the TV series and found it quite funny but there are some weird things in there and I am sure, I don’t get some things due to cultural differences. However, I am really glad that they did not edit it out when the series was dubbed in English. I wonder if these would be considered kid appropriate even though all the kids were watching it.

The weird things don’t make me want to stop watching this series because I really enjoy it and it makes me laugh. It is cute and heartwarming and has some lessons thrown in. Besides, I love these little quirks 🙂

Season 1

  • 10-year olds leaving home to be trainers alone in the world! Hey, it is a fictional world. Anything is possible.
  •  Ep. 20 (Beauty & the beach)

Ash meets his mom after 2 months on the road and they never hug or touch! His mom was physically closer to the prof. throughout the episode than to her own son. Ash always hugs his pokémon though!

Same episode, there is a beauty contest and only this part is still in Japanese and not dubbed. James (a guy) who is dressed as a woman and claims his beauty does not lie in a man. He often likes to dress as a woman. Maybe, a great introduction to kids about gender fluidity and cross dressers?!

Then, James says ‘service, service’ in Japanese (It said service in the subs) and presses some button on his bikini and his breasts inflate a lot.

Everyone cheers for them and James holds his large breasts and says to Misty (who is around 13-14 years old) – ‘You participated 10 years too early’! Look at Misty’s face – She is devastated by this!

 

pokemon
; The subtitles say:You participated 10 years too early!

Note – Points 3,4,5 are from the same beach beauty contest scene. 

  • Ep. 34 The Kangaskhan Kid was super bizarre.

Fathers dangling 3 year olds from the windows of a helicopter and accidentally dropping the baby in the jungle.

The kids carrying 2 adults on a palanquin kinda thing because the adults don’t want to walk in the jungle.  Why couldn’t they drive?

Misty smacking a kid who barely reaches up to her waist.

The father hitting his 6/7 year old with a wooden log on the head! Then, all characters justify it as a good thing because it helped bring his memory back ha ha.

When the kid regains consciousness, the father opens his coat and shirt, shows his bare chest and asks ‘My boy, remember papa?’! What was that for, I wonder he he.

Screen Shot 2016-08-27 at 12.40.18 PM.png
Tommy, my boy
Screen Shot 2016-08-27 at 12.41.19 PM.png
Remember papa?

These adults who cannot even walk in the jungle because it is too hard decide to live in the jungle forever.

  • Ep 47 A Chansey operation

The adult male doc says ‘I can never say no to a pretty face‘ when Misty pleads for them to treat Pikachu. It is not like he is calling her a cute little kid but more in an adult dating kinda way (she must be around 12-14 years old). Even Misty confirm this when she comments to Brock ‘Looks like the doc is not the only one who likes pretty faces‘ because Brock is hitting on every single woman he can find.

  • Ep. 48 Holy matrimony

The underground room where rich Jessie tries to make James a ‘gentleman’ seemed to hint toward BDSM from the stuff in the room to the way rich Jesse and Jame’s parents talked.

2 thoughts on “Weird Things About Pokémon Anime

  1. You should watch sailor moon . Was a popular Japanese anime when I was about 10 and when I watched it again recently felt some of the stuff were inappropriate.my usually strict and picky mum let me watch it then?may be I didn’t get it at that time. I was more interested in their super powers.also the tv series ninja robots Cartoon Network played in India wasn’t always age appropriate.

    1. I will check it out. I don’t think I have heard of it. I believe people think cartoons are for kids and never analysed it. I do not have any strong ideas about it and even if they watch, they would not get things which as an adult we can reflect and understand.

Leave a Reply

