Pokémon Go


Usually, I am a very late adopter and prefer to wait until the hype has died down before I even try out new things.

The latest craze here is Pokémon Go and everybody in public spots seems to be playing it. I downloaded the out of curiosity last Monday because:

  1. It is a game
  2. I did not have to queue for it
  3. No ‘sold out’ problems

I really enjoy playing it and am now one of those people crazy about Pokémon ha ha. It is fun and a great way to explore the city/town you live in. Now, I have become one of those people glued to my phone screen looking for poke stops and catching Pokémon. I am surprised how addicting it is (for me). This was the first time, my phone battery drained in less than a day because of constant GPS use and playing the game.

On top of that Uncle does not play this game but encourages me by sending me info about the game (like tips & tricks) as well as joining me on going to different places for catching Pokémon. Also, my orientation is not that great and Uncle tells me where we should be walking based on the map.

Last weekend, we went to Chinese gardens and we were surprised at the crowds there and almost every other person was playing Pokémon. We all were walking around catching Pokémon 😀

One good thing about playing the game here is that everything is connected by transportation and compact. Plus, I do not have to drive to far off places to catch Pokémon.

The good

  • I am we are walking more and a bit extra to catch pokemons and hatch eggs
  • Exploring new areas  and noticing landmarks which serve as Poké stopsand that increases the chances of catching different Pokémon.
  • I used to have a lot of data left over every month in my plan and now, I can utilize it more.

The bad

  • I am glued to my phone.
  • My reading has slowed down.
  • I am only partially listening at times because I am focused on the game.

I was a teen by the time Pokémon (anime) released in India and I never watched it, though I heard about it. Now, with Pokémon Go, I started watching it and I have to say it is fun and funny! Watching the series made me realise that catching Pokémon seems actually cruel even though it is fiction. It is like catching wild animals against their will and taming them and trapping them in balls. No animal rights  lessons in there, though the main characters are really kind to their Pokémon and there is some talk about freedom of Pokémon (Season 1 Episode 10 – Bulbasur and the hidden village).

Are you playing Pokémon Go?

4 thoughts on “Pokémon Go

  1. Lol. My friends are, but I can’t because I have data problems. Each month I almost stretch out to the max even with Instagram and Snapchat deactivated on data. Also, me lazy. I had tried geocaching and that was fun too. But then the excitement died.

Leave a Reply

