Landline


Updated on 13 July 2016

It all started last December when I was reading Rainbow Rowell’s Landline. A landline phone features prominently in the plot and it filled me with so much nostalgia. I am not a sentimental person usually and I was surprised by my attraction to the landline. I really wanted a landline!

Here’s why I like landlines:

  1. I have a thing for all things retro including landlines, watches and paper calendars – Things an average person (I know) doesn’t use these days.
  2. Pure nostalgia – the hours spent talking on the landline phone!
  3. Avoid cell phone radiation – While I do not believe in overblown reports of dangers of cellphone radiation, I do believe that there is some truth to it.
  4. My ears hurt when I talk using cell phones for more than a few minutes for real.

I thought that this was a just a fleeting desire due to the book. Two months later, I still wanted a landline! I researched my options and realised that I couldn’t have a landline because

  1. I would have to get a new number and I don’t like clutter – why have 2 numbers?
  2. it was expensive – one can get a free local number with internet connection (depending on the offer) but international calls are expensive.
  3. I was renting. Was it worth getting a landline in my name?
  4. I was in office most of the day.
  5. I would still need to keep my cell phone.

Next I started exploring the options of transferring the calls from cell phones to landlines so that I could use the landline. There wasn’t anything like that.

During my search for landlines, I came across the retro handset which is essentially a speaker microphone which can be connected via the earphones jack in cell phones! This seemed like an ideal solution and I set out to search for it. I didn’t want to spend too much money on it because I was afraid I might get over it in a week or two.

Every single time I wanted to buy a retro handset for the price I wanted, something went wrong.

Try 1  ($8) – The product image showed a person speaking using a normal sized handset and I was sent the tiny version. I became wary of purchasing sets that did not state the measurements clearly.

Try 2 ($12) – I placed an order and later was informed that the item was out of stock.

Try 3 ($20) – Was regularly checking local websites for second hand retro sets. Contacted a seller and the seller kept changing the meeting time/date/ place and it drove me nuts.

Try 4 ($10) – Contacted another seller and asked for dimensions. No reply. I gave up. This was when I told Uncle the whole landline story. He messaged the seller again and they replied. We decided to buy it the next day. This was in May 2016.

It is on my desk!

I keep it in my office as I use my cell phone there mostly. It works great. My voice is clear and no more ear pain! I thought I would stop using it in a week or two after I got it in May but I still love using it 🙂

Note: My handset stopped working 2 days ago😦  Looks like I will have to get a new one.

5 thoughts on “Landline

  1. This looks so cool! The color is also pretty. I had seen this a few years back and I had really wanted it then. But I didn’t talk too much on the phone then in school to justify buying it for use. I thought about it later too after joining work, but I have a landline at work and no one calls on my cell phone. I usually FaceTime or keep the phone on speaker at home to keep doing my chores.

    1. I didn’t choose the color but it is unmissable🙂 Since it is a like a earphone, you can use it for facetime as well ha ha. I am trying to talk more because we tend to go the easier way by texting.

Leave a Reply

