Kranti


A story from my childhood.

I used to go to a crèche when I was around 4 years old. Kranti was also in the same crèche and we used to play together. Kranti stayed in a flat 2 levels above our crèche.

The bus stop was in front of the the windows
The bus stop was in front of the the windows

His mom usually came earlier to pick him up than mine. Kranti would start crying when his mom would come to pick him up as he wanted to play with me. His mom had to request S aunty, who was in charge of the crèche to let me come with him to their house until my mom came. My mom would come later to pick me up, he would start crying again. Both our moms had convince him that I would come again the next day. Their flat’s window overlooked the bus stop & I remember seeing Kranti crying loudly through the window & calling out for me.

The bus stop behind the creche building
The bus stop behind the crèche building. There is a grown up me sitting  at the bus stop, if you were wondering about the blurry parts in the photo.

This has happened many times but I have a mental memory of one time very vividly, though I can’t remember Kranti’s face. This story seems so funny now.

P.S – The photos are more recent. I went to this locality about 3 years ago and took photographs and when I saw the building, I remembered Kranti crying & calling me from the window 🙂

4 thoughts on “Kranti

Leave a Reply

