The Tar of Gluttony


And when he first tasted the sticky dark substance, the young paladin knew he had sinned.

Tar of Gluttony
Tar of Gluttony

Guest post by Uncle

Today I have a surprise review by the very Uncle! After so much nudging and pushing (and so many broken promises!) he has finally agreed to write something for my blog. Lazy Uncle 🙂 You might remember him from few of my earlier posts. Take it away Uncle 🙂 – Boiling

Boiling is not just a political blogger, she is an excellent cook as well (Boiling is flattered. Nobody calls her an excellent cook & she prefers cooking for foreigners because they do not tell her it is Indian enough ha ha ). Her pasta, a fusion between Western (Italian) and Eastern (Indian) cuisines, is something to behold. But that’s for another review. Today I will tell you about her latest foray into my favorite culinary area, desserts!

You see, I have a sweet tooth, or two! Every day after lunch I simply NEED something sweet. Regardless of what I had for lunch and how much of it, I won’t feel “full” unless I have something sweet. That is who I am. A nasty cookie monster, disguised as an Uncle, always on a lookout for something sugary.

And yesterday was my lucky day. The Tar of Gluttony started as one of those “lets kitbash few ingredients I have into something” on a slow Sunday afternoon. Well, not really. See, Boiling had been planning to try making one of the vegan raw desserts (raw as, no baking) and had most of the ingredients for chocolate balls. However, she lacked nuts & more dates to make a dough. But who cares, right? Why so technical? As long as it’s sweet and nice, I don’t care what it is that’s left out. Typical guy, right?

Anyhow, I guess because it was her first time making this particular dish and, because she lacked an ingredient or two she wasn’t loud about it. To tell you the truth, I had no idea she made it. And for her to make a dessert behind Uncle’s back, is completely unacceptable! 🙂

So came 3 PM or so, and I asked:

Uncle: Have anything sweet?

Boiling: I am making a watermelon juice, wanna try?

Uncle: Yeah, but watermelon juice is just a juice. Anything with substance?

Boiling: Well, I have just made that dessert… 

Uncle: WHAT DESSERT??!!

Boiling: You know the one with cocoa and…

Uncle: WHAT?!! You never told me anything! (guilt-tripping her hehehe)

Boiling: Remember, the one with dates and coconut, its in the fridge.

Uncle (shaking): Is it ready? Can I try?

Boiling: No, no, I’ve just put it in the fridge. It will take some time. It needs to be hard, so that I can cut it into pieces like a brownie. That’s why it is in the fridge. You see, I put too much coconut cream……

Uncle: How long until I can eat it?

Boiling: Hmmm, I am not sure. This is my first time, maybe…

Uncle: Who cares if it is hard or soft. Let’s try it now! Bring it to me! 

So poor Boiling was forced into submitting her unfinished love of labor to a nasty Uncle, a cookie monster in disguise. And boy was the Tar good! I gobbled half of it in one go, feeling “full” and happy.

It was thick, dark and uber sweet. There are three distinct flavors kicking in at different times: First is the flavor of coconut. Then you feel a bit of honey & cacao. And lastly, the strongest taste is a mixture of mashed dates, with traces of honey and coconut. I know, not much of a description, right? Honestly, I cannot provide with a better explanation. But I can add that it’s caloric. It makes you feel “full” quickly. Always an extra point in my book.

I definitely recommend it. If you love desserts, don’t have an oven or simply want to try something new – go for it. You will not regret it. The beauty of it lies in flexibility. I can easily see someone adding raisins, cashews or almonds at the very end. You can make your own versions. Use your imagination and adapt it to your preferences. And I think it’s also relatively easy to make.

This brings us to the name. Initially, Boiling proposed:

Uncle: A Chocolate Mousse for Vegans!? What? Why cannot vegans have their own dishes instead of making equivalent dishes. Like mock meat. Why not just eat meat?

Boiling: Right…

Uncle: So why try to imitate? Give it another name. A new name for something entirely new! How about…tar!! Tar of gluttony!!

Boiling: No! It’s so biblical!

Uncle: No, it’s so diabolical, diabolical like Diablo 3 – BUAHAHAHAHAHA (demonic laughter)

And there you have it folks, The Tar of Gluttony! Make it, try it and let us know how you liked it.

Recipe

Serves 2

I saw several vegan raw & healthy dessert recipes in many blogs and wanted to try them out. I was planning to make chocolate balls/brownies from those recipes.  So, this recipe is a mish mash of the recipes I saw & it ended up being of pudding consistency instead of solid stuff. It is delicious, just the same!

photo

Ingredients

  • 15 medium dates – Deseed & soak in warm water for 20 minutes
  • 200 ml coconut cream – I used Kara coconut cream
  • 3 tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp Honey (Adjust according to sweetness level desired)

Put the dates (without the water), coconut cream, chia seeds, honey and cacao powder in a blender and blend well. Refrigerate and serve chilled.

Leave a Reply

