Kate Middleton’s baby bump


I am bored about this obsession with Kate Middleton’s pregnancy and baby. I was reading the news and saw this small image of her which made me click on the news about her baby for the first time.

There she was walking  with a pregnant belly though she had just delivered baby. I did not know that women looked pregnant after giving birth. I thought all that amniotic fluid just popped out and thought one had a loose stomach but not that. I have never seen anyone walking around with a pregnant looking belly after the birth of a baby. I admit I am not around pregnant women often but nobody showed me this side of giving birth. 

That takes courage. People here do not walk around until their stomachs are flat again and I don’t see it in India either. Everybody is showing off their pregnant bellies. There are pregnant women photos in all glory on Facebook. Then they give birth. There is a photo of them lying down on that hospital bed with their baby. Of their babies. But never of them standing  with the post pregnancy belly with the baby.

Prince William and Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge show their new-born baby boy to the world's media outside the Lindo Wing of St Mary's Hospital in London on July 23, 2013. Before the new mother even left the hospital, members of the Twitterverse expressed their shock that Kate still looked pregnant hours after giving birth.

For that, I really admire her. There is often such a lack of authenticity about our lives, about our struggles, about the not so nice parts of our lives and our bodies. Of course, she was well groomed but  I am glad she did not hide her belly under loose clothes and pretend it did not exist.

Here is an article on that: Article 1   Article 2

P.S: I remembered how a lady was telling us how she felt when people asked her after giving birth as to when she was going to deliver her baby. That was her second child and she did not say “well, women look like this after birth”. Instead she told us all how she felt and that she needs to lose weight and get a flatter stomach, so that people would stop asking her that. 

2 thoughts on “Kate Middleton’s baby bump

  1. What I find extraordinary with Kate Middleton is her straightforward almost unassuming feminism. “I have a belly, so what”, “I chose to breastfeed, so what” etc… A great woman for me.

Leave a Reply

