Blog Post Number 101


 

 

 

This is my blog post number 101!

Surprisingly, though my blog means a lot to me, lot of people I know – my family or close friends or acquaintances do not really actively follow or support my blog. The reasons (known by simply asking and my deduction) include – 

  • They don’t really care
  • They are not into reading.
  • They are not into the topics my blog covers
  • They do not really like my ideas or my way of looking at things 
  • They want me to fit in the society and start thinking the other way round. If I am writing then I am thinking about this.
  • The oft cited reason is that it is too depressing. It reminds them of their own life. It reminds them of the problems of the society we live in and the fact that they cannot do anything. It reminds them of the system they are involuntarily a part of and the things they cannot change. They have enough reminders of it in their lives. They do not want to read it again on my blog.

     

In a way, the last reason is true for me too, which is why I often write about other topics now. This blog was initially started to channel my anger over patriarchy in India and deal with the  issues I had due to it. I think my anger cooled down a lot because I write and because I chose to cut myself off this entire system.

Surprisingly, I got a lot of support and encouragement for this blog from unexpected  friends and strangers alike and I want to thank all of you for that 🙂

A special thanks to Uncle who encouraged me to write this blog and is still one of my loyal supporters/readers.

Of course, this blog is even more awesome because I write it 🙂

Uncle adds “because it is Uncle’s idea!”

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blog Post Number 101

  1. I think we need as many voices as possible writing, ranting, speaking, agitating (etc) against a system that is directly leading to miserable lives (and deaths) of millions of Indians. Love the clarity with which you write. I hope you continue to write, one of the things our blogs achieve is, I feel, they are available for those who need validation.

  2. Well I read it blog. May b not immediately after u post something but some time when I get time and catch up. My thinking would be that even though it is ur blog and u r allowed to write what u want, ur writing is focused on the problems of the society. U talk about problems that a lot of ppl are now aware, some try to do something about it while others feign if ignorance. But at the same time the very society has a lot of good about it – family values, parental respect, celebrating together etc. and u never talk about those. U r looking at the world with ur cynical glasses and pointing out all the mistakes that is there. How about u put on u optimistic glasses and talk a about the food thigs too once in a while. You can also talk about the movements in India and other places – like save the girl movement or banyan social group who r doing good things. There will be always problems in this world. The idea is not to sit and complain about it and vent ur frustration but do something more hands on. Now that u r feeling a lil better while writing about it, I would suggest that u look into a more practical solution for the situations mentioned in ur blog.

    Keep writing. I think u hav realized a lot of things about ur self or figured how to express better through this blog.

    1. My thinking would be that even though it is ur blog and u r allowed to write what u want, ur writing is focused on the problems of the society.
      – Well that is the reason I write. Because of the issues I have with the problems in our society.

      But at the same time the very society has a lot of good about it – family values, parental respect, celebrating together etc. and u never talk about those.
      – Well, the very society is not the only one that has it and these very values are convoluted to convenience to try control other people. you do not follow the rules the way we like, you are disrespectful, you do not wear traditional clothes, you have no family values. Parental respect, do whatever we tell you to do. Things should be mutual and parents must learn to respect individuality. Celebrating together and large gatherings? like weddings? yes who is footing the bill? To me it is negative point because they are not even on my fav list of things. Well you love them, then blog about it. This is blog is about what it means to me. To you, if they are positive, then write about it.

      I would suggest that u look into a more practical solution for the situations mentioned in ur blog. – This is what I can afford to do. Write, discuss and how I like to do. I deal with my issues my way.

      Thank you

Leave a Reply

