Review: Ecostore Rose and Cardamom Body Wash


Ages since I did a review of organic cosmetics (due to various reasons), though I have a lot of products in line for review writing.

I was waiting in the mall last month and miraculously, this natural boutique called Aphea Organique was open. Every time I am around the mall, it is closed. So this time it was open and I went in because I saw that they had organic stuff through the glass windows. They are actually closing this branch in China Square Central but they are setting up online shopping. Thus they had a clearance sale. I saw a nice body wash and got it and I am quite happy I did. 

Brand:  I have never used this brand before and do not remember seeing it around. Here is the information I got from their website:

 

Early years
ecostore started out in Malcolm and Melanie’s house in an eco-village in NZ. They had one second hand computer and a fax machine which was the most expensive thing they owned. The business was called Fairground Ethical Traders in the beginning, because they didn’t realise what a mouthful that was.

Later on
The business grew and they decided to move with their two daughters, Ahi and Keva, down to Auckland where most of their customers were.

Today
ecostore products are distributed in supermarkets and health stores throughout Australia and NZ and are exported to Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Korea and are sold in the US.

Our products are:

  • Plant and mineral based, with no nasty chemicals
  • Independently tested to work so you don’t have to compromise on performance
  • Super concentrated so a little goes a long way
  • Not tested on animals
  • Proudly GE free
  • A pleasure to use
  • Made in our ISO 14001, Environmark Diamond accredited, CarboNZero certified factory in Auckland (with a couple of exceptions)
  • Packaged in recyclable bottle and boxes, using recycled materials wherever possible
  • Labelled with a full list of ingredients
  • Developed using the latest in eco science to meet the highest environmental and health standards

Sounds good to me.

Smell: Nice. I wanted a non citrusy smell because most organic shower gels come in citrus smell and then I would not be buying anything new.

Packaging and texture: I got the 400 ml bottle. Simple, neat, easy to hold, can pour out shower gel easily. No complaints. I am glad it does not come with a pump because that indicates  that the shower gel is watery and you will get mainly foam when you pump it out. It is thick but liquid enough to pour out and is translucent in colour.

Ingredients: I got the ingredients from the website and they are not in order as on the bottle I guess. Each ingredient is linked to more details of where it came from (from their website).

AquaSodium Lauroyl GlutamateSodium LauroamphoacetateCoco GlucosideGlyceryl Oleate,  Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride,  Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Essential oils of Citrus SinensisAgathosma BetulinaLitsea CubebaRosa DamascenaCoriandrum SativumPiper NigrumElettaria CardamomumSantalum AlbumAniba RosaeodoraPogostemon Cablin

Feel on skin: Great. Foams well. I do not need to use too much. Still smells nice after showering. Not too drying.

 

Price: 17 SGD after 10% discount, so it was around 19 SGD which is not bad at all for 400 ml bottle of shower gel. The good organic ones cost around 20 SGD for 250 ml, so this is a good deal and I am glad I went when I went.

Overall: 4.5/5

Smells good, texture is good and not watery, does not dry my skin, and yes the price gets extra brownie points. I hope they do not raise the price. They have two other smells – orange ( I am bored of it as I can get an orange organic shower gel in a lot of places) and coconut vanilla. This rose smelled the best (and orange did smell good too Coconut not that great). I would def go for it again. Among my fav shower gels now apart from Akin.

Leave a Reply

