Reblog: I don’t want to fight anymore


I found this post @ link and reblogging it here because I like it.

I don’t want to fight my circumstances anymore.

I don’t want to fight with the morning anymore….with the fatigue I feel that only coffee can kick a hole in.

I don’t want to fight with this lack of motivation at the beginning of Almost. Every. Day. (anymore)

I don’t want to fight with the complete sense of BLAH when I walk in to work anymore.

I don’t want to fight to fit in anymore.

Hippo fightHippo fight! (via nilsrinaldi on Flickr)

 I don’t want to fight to focus my energy anymore, to combat this lethargy anymore.  (it’s effing tiring)

I don’t want to fight to be understood anymore.

I don’t want to fight with that sense of who I’m supposed to be and what I’m supposed to be thankful for anymore.

I don’t want to fight to give the best of myself when I’m really not feeling it (at all) anymore.

I don’t want to fight to find meaning in my work, when it is clearly meaningless (to me), anymore.

I don’t want to fight to convince myself that other people’s conceptions of what my life should look like are correct and that there’s something wrong with my dreams…anymore.

I don’t want to fight so hard to create space where I can feel truly really honestly freakin’ HAPPY anymore.

I don’t want to fight with the scary truth that I know in my heart – that my life is not turning out to follow the linear trajectory I thought it would – anymore.

I don’t want to fight all those other people to be the designated Successful Candidate for the job anymore.

I don’t want to fight to suppress the things I truly love to do – “because they’re not practical” – anymore.

I don’t want to fight to be a circle or a square, or whatever “they” want me to be to fit in the mold, (I’m a rhombus, damnit!) anymore.

I don’t want to fight to be appreciated anymore.

I don’t want to fight to be seen anymore.

I don’t want to fight to be well-liked anymore.

I don’t want to fight to be more effective anymore.

I don’t want to fight this stagnation I feel anymore.

I don’t want to fight to tame all the beauty I have to give to the world, simply because I haven’t found the right venue through which to deliver it yet….anymore.

SO. I. DON’T.

I stopped.  Completely.  Unapologetically.  I stopped all of the fighting, left behind everything that wasn’t working, put my white flag out to fly, and started leaning fully into that which gives me energy.

I accepted the Truth About Me.

Because here’s the deal: (and you know this…you’re a smart cookie)  When you’re fighting, you’re not thriving.  I keep hearing people talk about what’s acceptable, and what’s not acceptable.  What’s realistic, and what’s not realistic.  

 Acceptable and realistic by whose measure?

 Whose agenda are you fighting for anyway? 

 And more importantly, what are you going to stop fighting?  Right now?

This post came up as a result of a session I had with a client this week.  She had been describing all of the things that were causing immense amounts of stress in her life, and ended the description by sorrowfully stating, “But that’s life right?  Life is just very stressful.”  My response?  “It doesn’t have to be.”
Yes, there are lots of things you can’t control, and there will always be stressful circumstances that you need to move through.  But the sooner you stop fighting the bullshit that prevents you from bringing the best of yourself to the world, the sooner the unnecessary stressiness of your life will melt away.  You owe it to yourself.  What are you going to stop fighting?
Leave a Reply

