Review : Logona Organic Mint & Witch Hazel Cleansing Foam


I was looking for a good face wash and I had quite a few requirements –

a)      Must be organic/natural naturally and I do not want to see SLS/petrochemical or     parabens and stuff like that on the ingredients list

b)      For oily/ combination skin

c)       Not too expensive

d)      Decent reviews

e)      Available out here because I want to see it, smell it and it need not be shipped from some faraway land making me wait or pay for shipping.

So, I got Logona Organic Mint & Witch Hazel Cleansing Foam.

Packaging – I am not big on looks while packaging and it seemed, shall I say normal but I had to spend a few seconds looking for English on the pack because it is a German brand. Face wash comes in a pump type bottle, which is convenient for its texture. The pump seems to work  well so far. A transparent bottle, so I can see the level of liquid. Tiny things, easily missed but they can be irksome when missing.

Texture – The first time I used it I was disappointed, to be honest and seriously contemplated changing it to another gel face wash. It is very watery and when pumped out, comes as foam. Since I already had a gel texture wash, I decided to stick with this.

Scent – Mildly minty? It is faint and does not bother me. People used to non-organic washes may find it too mild because organic stuff usually do not use perfumes which smell strong and last longer.

Ingredients – Aqua (Water), Alcohol*, Glycerin, Polyglyceryl -10 Laurate, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Coco Glucoside, Glyceryl Oleate, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil*, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract*, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract*, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract*, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract*, Cimifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Magnolia Liliflora Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract*, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract*, Maltodextrin, Citric Acid

Alcohol – Organic and so I assume must be plant derived? I am not too sure though. Not recommended for aging skin

Glycerin – If you are super picky or it makes you break out, then avoid. I think it is plant derived.

Their list of amazing plant extracts sold me out! I have almost bought it when I read such ingredients and I know some of them are good for oily skin.

This product

  • is BDIH Certified Natural  +5
  • Full ingredients disclosure   +20
  • No synthetic preservatives  +10
  • No animal testing +50
  • No irradiation of natural ingredients and their cosmetic end products +10
  • Avoidance of genetically-engineered ingredients +3?  I work on genetically engineered stuff and it is not bad depending on what is modified and the use.
  • Environmental responsibility regarding raw materials, manufacturing, and packaging +40
  • Social responsibility regarding domestic employees and with 3rd World suppliers of raw materials (Fair Trade) +15? My awareness is not too high regarding this and this can be very undefinable tricky area.

Effect – I loved it and can say it is effective for me. Definitely helps with blackheads. The liquid foamy thing seemed ineffective but I can say it is effective. It is not drying and does not contribute to oily feel at all. Now do not expect a squeaky clean feel because it does not dry your skin out in the name of cleansing and it is organic. Just gives a clean feel. It does seem to last a decent amount of time – maybe 2 months? I will know when I finish it.

Rating -4/5

Recommended.

Leave a Reply

