Banana Cake


Living alone and having to do everything by myself has made me search and cook in the most time and energy efficient way.

I often make this cake when I have overripe bananas as I do not like eating very ripe bananas and many of my friends love it. I do an customized version of this recipe I got from the internet (Original recipe).

Put in a blender jar:

  • 2 to 3 ripe bananas
  • Semolina/Rava  – like say half a cup. I usually add roughly directly into the blender jar and about enough rava so that the banana and rava are in the ratio 1:0.75.
  • Milk – enough to make a thick batter which can be poured. Do not worry, if you end up adding more milk, you can steam it longer.
  • Honey – 1-2 large spoons. Depending on how ripe the bananas are and how sweet you like your cake or 3-4 spoons on sugar
  • Little cinnamon powder or cardamom

Blend it well and pour it into an oiled pan and steam for 20 minutes. Check if it is done by putting a knife/fork in and it should come out clean without anything sticking to it.  Over steaming makes it hard. Let it cool down and cut it into pieces.

I love this recipe for its simplicity and ease. I usually steam it in a steel box and store it directly in it. It uses very little oil and you can customize it for different taste depending on how much banana or sweetness you like.

Customizations:

  1. Roast the rava in ghee. I am lazy to do this and do not want to wash extra dishes.
  2. Use coconut milk for a vegan version but I always have milk at home.
  3. Use jaggery instead of honey/ sugar. I feel honey is the easiest option.
  4. Maybe add grated coconut? Never tried this though.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

